So for the past few weeks Me before You was seen over most social media platforms even though it is a few years old and so I realised that my mum owned it. As I finished my other read I managed to find the book and start reading it almost straight away and ended up finishing the book this morning. The reason why this book intrigued me was mainly because the film trailer looked really good and sort of like a film I would like to watch and therefore a book I would like to read and Sam Clafin (Finnick from The Hunger Games) is the actor of Will.

me before youBook: Me Before You

Rating: 5 stars

Pages: 481 pages

Synopsis:

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick. What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane. Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that. What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

—–

I guess you could say that this book is similar to The Fault in Our Stars in the way that an illness (in this case a disability) makes you see the good in life but then again it was different as it had a more mature and appealing writing style that gripped you throughout and reversed the roles to that of the person suffering inspires the other person who isn’t . I would constantly want to pick this book back up and find out what happens between Louisa Clark and Will Traynor which told me from the beginning that whatever happened in the book would affect emotionally, and it did.

I enjoyed the witty, sarcastic Will and the optimistic yet caring side to Louisa and freaking loved watching their friendship grow. At points I felt sorry for Louisa and her strength to how hard she had tried to persuade Will to change his mind (about ending his life) to the point when I got teary when something didn’t work out but I’m glad that we never really felt sorry for Will and how it focused on seeing the best in him.

I’m glad that the POV changed every so often and that Will’s accident was written at the begging so we got to see how it had affected the way he lived. I liked the different adventures Lou and Will went on, e.g the opera and holiday away as it really made you think about them as a couple.

I was left shocked with the ending yet I felt it did the book justice as then it wasn’t a cheesy storyline of boy meets girl, girl turns boy’s world around and they live happily ever after. – woops spoiler ish-

Overall I was very pleased that I read this book during its hype, and once recovered I need to prepare myself for the film. Have you read this book yet?

Chloe x

 

