So if you didn’t see my last post, my birthday was on the Monday we just had (the 21st) and I thought I would share with you my book haul! On top of the 5 books I received I also got a Hunger Games charm bookmark and a Mortal Instrument angel necklace!

birthday books1. RadioSilence by Alice Oseman

Im eager to start this book that my friend got me as its by the author that wrote Solitaire and I liked that book as I thought It was an easy read to take my mind off things, the cover looks really cool which is a bonus!

Synopsis (goodreads):What if everything you set yourself up to be was wrong?
Frances has always been a study machine with one goal, elite university. Nothing will stand in her way; not friends, not a guilty secret – not even the person she is on the inside. But when Frances meets Aled, the shy genius behind her favourite podcast, she discovers a new freedom. He unlocks the door to Real Frances and for the first time she experiences true friendship, unafraid to be herself. Then the podcast goes viral and the fragile trust between them is broken. Caught between who she was and who she longs to be, Frances’ dreams come crashing down. Suffocating with guilt, she knows that she has to confront her past…She has to confess why Carys disappeared…
Meanwhile at uni, Aled is alone, fighting even darker secrets. It’s only by facing up to your fears that you can overcome them. And it’s only by being your true self that you can find happiness. Frances is going to need every bit of courage she has.

2. Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

I haven’t actually heard much about this book but I have seen it around for a while but since my internet friend who I exchanged gifts with for our birthdays sent this to me we are going to read this together which will be fun!

Synopsis (goodreads): Ruthless and supremely powerful, the Great Library is now a presence in every major city, governing the flow of knowledge to the masses. Alchemy allows the Library to deliver the content of the greatest works of history instantly—but the personal ownership of books is expressly forbidden. Jess Brightwell believes in the value of the Library, but the majority of his knowledge comes from illegal books obtained by his family, who are involved in the thriving black market. Jess has been sent to be his family’s spy, but his loyalties are tested in the final months of his training to enter the Library’s service. When his friend inadvertently commits heresy by creating a device that could change the world, Jess discovers that those who control the Great Library believe that knowledge is more valuable than any human life—and soon both heretics and books will burn…

oooooooooooo that sounds exciting!!!

3. Soulmates by Holly Bourne

I have wanted to buy/get this book for so long because it is just so freaking pretty and I have heard that its really good plus the storyline is a cool concept!

Synopsis (goodreads): Every so often, two people are born who are the perfect matches for each other. Soulmates. But while the odds of this happening are about as likely as being struck by lightning, when these people do meet and fall in love…thunderstorms, lightning strikes and lashings of rain are only the beginning of their problems. Enter Poppy, the 17-year-old cynic with a serious addiction to banana milk, and Noah, the heart-throb guitarist; residents of mediocre Middletown, sometime students, and…soulmates. After a chance meeting at a local band night, Poppy and Noah find themselves swept up in a whirlwind romance unlike anything they’ve ever experienced before. But with a secret international agency preparing to separate them, a trail of destruction rumbling in their wake, (and a looming psychology coursework deadline), they are left with an impossible choice between the end of the world, or a life without love…

4. The Bane Chronicals by Cassandra Clare

Sooo I have only read the first 3 mortal instruments but I now own 11 books in that world which is just amazing! I am late to this fandom but still I love it and never want to leave it! Magnus is such a cool character that I totally ship Alec with so why not hget given a book all about him? 🙂

5. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

This is the mother of all books so it will probably be the summer by the time I start this (*gasp* I know im terrible but sorry!), it being my year of exams and all but still its nice to own even if it is the only mortal instrument book that is a different size and height to the rest *cries in the corner*!

Synopsis (goodreads): It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses. Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didn’t lead her in treacherous directions… Making things even more complicated, Julian’s brother Mark—who was captured by the faeries five years ago—has been returned as a bargaining chip. The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kind—and they need the Shadowhunters’ help to do it. But time works differently in faerie, so Mark has barely aged and doesn’t recognize his family. Can he ever truly return to them? Will the faeries really allow it?

I hope you enjoyed hearing about the books that have been recently added to my shelves/collection! Comment below any books you recently bought/received!

Chloe x

