A few weeks ago I received New World Rising by Jennifer Wilson to post an honest review and I was so excited to get and read this book as I saw it almost everywhere and everything about it intrigued me! Thank you 🙂

new world risingTitle: New World Rising by Jennifer Wilson

Released: January 6th (Oftomes publishing)

Page Count: 318 pages

Rating: 4.5 stars

Synopsis (goodreads): Since witnessing her parents’ murders at the age of eleven, Phoenix’s only purpose in life has been to uphold her mother’s dying words- to be strong and survive. But surviving outside of The Walls- outside of The Sanctuary- is more like a drawn-out death sentence. A cruel and ruthless city, Tartarus is run by the Tribes whose motto is simple, “Join or die.”

Refusing to join and determined to live, Phoenix fights to survive in this savage world. But who can she trust, when no one can be trusted? Not even herself.

—–

The book starts off with drawings and handwritten notes about the different tribes within this world and the layout of the world, this is something I like to read before going into a book, so that I am able to understand characteristics and form the story in my head.

The first few chapters are of the main character moving to different safe houses and how she survives day to day in Tartarus which instantly engages you with Phoenix and therefore helps you form a bond with her as you learn about what she has been through, making it that little bit more gripping when her world is turned upside down and everything she knew had to change.

 I did feel that the character names were to osimilar so it made a little difficult to grasp who was who. (e.g Tartarus, Taciturn, Triven, Subverse, Sanctuary, Maddox, Mouse, Arstid, Arden) but that soon changed as the storyline picked up.

Mouse is someone that Phoenix sees as a young version of herself, yet she is an Avox(someone who has been made unable to speak) so you feel glad that Phoenix saves her and within The subverse gathers some friends and is able to act like a child and not having to fend for herself in a city where it it unsafe to turn you back or go out in the day.

Every story has that person that you fall in love with and for this one it was Triven. Phoenix at first dislikes him and refuses to trust anyone so you constantly urge she learns to love him and she does.

Once Phoenix starts to form a bond with Mouse and Triven in The Subverse she is thrown into helping the council find a vantage point where the tribes inside the ruthless city – Tactartus – are getting their weapons from, and you soon learn that the place Phoenix and her parents escaped from(causing their deaths) – The Sanctuary – is the place where she will have to return to and face her fears. But the mission goes wrong and finds herself stuck inside the Walls and captured.

This book is fairly face paced and once the end comes you want more. I don’t think I can wait till June for New World Ashes, Jennifer’s writing is just that good! I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys a dystopian YA, hence why I gave it 4.5 stars 🙂

*Im so sorry that I didn’t post last weekend, when I finished this book but ive been crazy busy with my Art exam prep for my GCSE exam next week! I will try and post again before school starts!*

Chloe x

