After being MIA for a few weeks due to being away on holiday to Italy and Tenerife, I finally read a pile of books which I can share reviews for over the next few days!

image.jpeg

The first book I read when I was away was Amy and Rodgers Epic Detour by Morgan Matson! After reading The Unexpected Everything and Since You’ve Been Gone, I was eager to get my hands on her other books but couldn’t get hold of Second Chance Summer so that is still a book on my TBB and TBR !

Rating: 3 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️

So far this has been my least favourite of Morgan Matson’s books mainly because it didn’t live up to the other two, meaning the actual book wasn’t too bad but it wasn’t as amazing as I hoped! This book took me a while to get into but once I was a good 100 pages in I flew through it as it is a short, easy contemporary that I do recommend to be read but less over the other two I’ve read so far!

The reason it took a while to get into is Amy has a past tradgey and you only get told snippets of it every so often and it isn’t handed on a plate so it can get a little confusing to begin with!

The storyline had nowhere to go, mainly that Amy was on a road trip and yes they visit places but it’s mainly building Amy as a person which is good in a novel but shouldn’t be the main part of a contemporary, the building of the relationship between Amy and Rodger should be. Whilst this still happens it is overcast by Amy’s fears and Rodger still being hung up on another girl 😁

The inevitable pair fall in love but their road trip ends as they finally confess that they have feelings for each other which is just a face palm Β moment as you don’t really learn too much about their lives after that apart from that they will try to see each other!

So yeah, as I said, the actual book is well written and the characters are easily loveable as well as being a light hearted easy summer contemporary to read, it just wasn’t as gripping as I hoped and fell to a loose end which is the worst in a book when you know it’s not going to have a following book!

I hope that others of you enjoyed it more than me! Have you read this book, what are your thoughts? I’d love to hear them! πŸ’•

Chloe x

