I was so very lucky to receive the ARC of Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Nivern a few months ago but only sadly got into reading it a couple of days ago! I received this book in exchange for an honest review and all opinions are my own 💗

image.jpeg

I rate this book 5/5 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ !

Jennifer, writer of best seller, All The Bright Places, has once again written such a heart- touching book about teenagers who fall for each other. Both of her books have underlying hidden meaning that just make them that much more entertaining and gripping.

The book follows Jack, diagnosed with face-blindness, who learns to see. He learns to find love in someone, he can see deeper than appearances which makes himself a less shitty person.

Libby is a girl who is perceived as large by society but in reality is larger with her actions, kindness and strength. Libby uses her voice to preach how badly people are treated, that everyone is wanted as everyone is special. We all have our insecurities and we shouldn’t hide them, we should own them.

The two main characters with alternate chapter POV are very loveable and make this story just that more detailed which is a key aspect I think of when reading a book.

This book shows that love has no face-value. It is made up of complicated aspects of a person. Qualitys that make be perceived in a different light by other people but will always be seen in a positive light by at least one person, yourself. You should love yourself. No matter what. Learn to love your image, your insecurities, as after all, you are your worst judge.

This book is well-written and structured in a way that makes you so engrossed you’re staying up (very late 😂) to finish chapter after chapter. It is one of those books that you will want to read. A book I highly recommend you go and get. You will cherish it as much as I did.

Love, happiness, sadness, all of the emotions 😀☹️😍 Are felt throughout this book, and it leaves you wanting more.

Jennifer Nivern always finds a way to touch the reader. And she touched me. This book is her best yet. I do love a good contemporary. But this book is more than just a label. So much love has been put into this, and is reflected so in the words written on the pages.

The fact that I finished this book the day before it is to be released just makes me feel that little bit special. And this book as you read and once you’ve read it, makes you feel special. After all, you are wanted.

I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did, I want to thank Jennifer Nivern and her team at penguin for sending me an early copy, I will remember this book, it will always have a special place in my heart 💗

Chloe x

